(cPanel >> Home >> Files >> Directory Privacy)

Overview

This interface allows you to protect specific directories in your cPanel account's files. After you enable this feature for a directory, when users attempt to view that directory via a website, the system prompts them to log in.

  • This feature modifies htaccess and htpasswd configurations in order to restrict access to files on your websites. 
  • This feature does not protect directories that users access via FTP, SFTP, Web Disk, or other services, or when they access files locally.

Select a directory

To use this interface, select a directory to manage.

  • To select a directory, click the desired directory's name.
  • To view and select subdirectories, click the parent directory's folder icon (). Then, click the desired subdirectory name.
  • A protected directory's subdirectories inherit their parent directory's password protection.
  • The lock icon () indicates that Directory Privacy configurations already exist for that directory.

Security Settings

You must perform these steps and click Save in order to enable this feature.

To password protect the selected directory, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the Password protect this directory checkbox.

    To remove password protection from a directory, deselect the Password protect this directory checkbox. Then, click Save.


  2. Enter a display label for the directory in the Enter a name for the protected directory text box.

    This name only functions as a label for the directory. Do not confuse it with the directory's actual name.


  3. Click Save. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.


In This Document

Related Documentation

For Hosting Providers



After you complete this process, you must create a user that can access this directory.

Create User

To create an authorized user for the selected directory, perform the following steps:

  1. Enter the desired username in the Username text box.
  2. Click Save. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.

To change an existing user's password, enter the user's information and the new desired password. Then, click Save.

Authorized Users

The Authorized Users menu lists the directory's existing authorized users. To delete a user, select that user and click Delete User. A confirmation message will appear. Click Go Back to return to the directory's configuration.