Child pages
  • Account Transfer
For cPanel & WHM version 74

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Overview

The Account Transfer interface displays the status and progress of your account restoration, and any warnings.

Account transfers appear on the left side of the interface, while site restorations appear on the right side of the interface.

In Progress

To pause this process, click Pause.

Note:

If you accidentally close this interface in WHM, navigate to the Review Transfers and Restores interface (WHM >> Home >> Transfers >> Review Transfers and Restores) and click the appropriate View link.

Use the /usr/local/cpanel/bin/view_transfer script to watch the process's progress via the command line. The correct command appears at the bottom of the WHM interface:

You may close this window and view the transfer on the command line: /usr/local/cpanel/bin/view_transfer DHGfWHNIu8STwNfZ3ywIOLLSGiCQtS

Completed


After the transfer and restoration process is complete, the top of the interface displays a Completed message. 


The links below the Transfer and Restore sections allow you to review the account's transfer and restoration logs, which can help you identify and resolve any warnings or skipped items. The total number of warnings and skipped items appears below each account's link.

IconTypeDescriptionExamples
SuccessA successful transfer or restoration. 
AlteredItems that the system modified during the restoration process.Conflicts between MySQL® or PostgreSQL® users and databases.
FailedItems that failed to transfer.No available IP addresses exist on your system, or you do not have permission to use more IP addresses.
DangerousItems that the system marked as dangerous and which it will not restore.
  • Symlinks inside the archive that do not exist in the home directory.
  • setuid binaries.
  • Items that a user or domain owns, and which the system will not restore.
SkippedItems that the system did not mark as dangerous, but do not meet the current security context.
  • vhost includes.
  • Reseller privileges.
WarningNon-fatal problems during the restoration process that do not fit any of the above categories.The system cannot read the reseller privileges file.

To view a log file, click the appropriate link to the log file.

Note:

To confirm that the system added the newly-transferred account to your backup configuration, navigate to WHM's Backup Configuration interface (WHM >> Home >> Backup >> Backup Configuration) or Legacy Backup Configuration interface (WHM >> Home > Backup >> Legacy Backup Configuration).


Summary


In addition to the transfer and restoration logs, the Summary section provides a list of severe warnings:

  • Invalid log files that the system rejected.
  • Renamed databases.
  • Renamed database users.
  • Skipped database grant tables.

You can use the Rename links in this section to change the names of accounts, databases, and usernames.


Restricted Restore errors


If a component of the backup file experiences an issue (for example, a MySQL grant table is compromised, or a symbolic link attack), the system will not restore that portion of the backup file, and the interface will issue a warning.

Additional documentation