Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This documentation is for cPanel & WHM version 64 builds.  The "STABLE" version of our documentation can be found in the Documentation space.

(Home >> Files >> File Manager

Overview

cPanel organizes all the files on your account into folders. Use the File Manager interface to manage and edit your files.

Change Settings

To change the directory in which File Manager opens, perform the following steps:

  1. Click Settings to open the File Manager Directory Selection window.
  2. Select web root (/public_html or www) for the most direct route to your files, or select another option to open the File Manager interface in that directory. 

    Note:

    Use this menu to display any hidden files.

  3. Click Save.


Create a new file or folder

To create a new file or folder, perform the following steps:

  1. Click + File or + Folder in the File Manager toolbar. A new window will appear.
  2. Enter the new item's name in the New File Name: text box.
  3. In the New file will be created in text box, enter a new file path if you want to edit the location in which cPanel will save the item.
  4. Click Create New File or Create New Folder.

Rename a file or folder

To rename a folder or file, click on the item's name and enter the new name in the text box. Press the Return key to save the change.

Note:

You can click on an item and select Rename. 

Move a file to a folder

To move a file into a folder, perform the following steps:

  1. Select Move from the tool bar at the top of the interface. A new window will appear.

    Note:

    You can also drag a file icon into a new destination folder. 

  2. Enter the file path that you want to move the file to in the Move text box.

  3. Click Move File(s) to move the file.

Move files to a folder

To move files into a folder, perform the following steps:

  1. To move several items, hold the Shift key while you select the items. A new window will appear. 

    Notes:

    • To move several items into a folder, hold the Shift key while you select the items. Then, drag the selected items' icons to the folder.
    • You can also right-click and select Copy from the menu.
  2. Enter the file path that you want to move the file to in the Move text box.
  3. Click Move File(s) to move the files.

Copy a file

To copy a file, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the file you want to copy and and click Copy from the tool bar at the top of the interface. 

    Note:

    You cannot create a copy of an item within the same folder.

  2. In the Copy window, enter the file path for which you want to save the item.

  3. Click Copy File(s) to copy the file.

Copy multiple files

To copy multiple files, perform the following steps:

  1. To copy several items, hold the Shift key while you select the items.

    Note:

    You can also right-click and select Copy from the menu.

  2. Select Copy from the tool bar.

  3. Enter the file path that you want to copy the files to in the Copy text box.
  4. Click Copy File(s) to copy the files.

Modify file or folder permissions

To modify a file or folder's permissions, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the file or folder for which to change the permissions.
  2. From the toolbar, click Permissions. The Change Permissions window will appear. 
  3. Use the checkboxes or text boxes to change the item's permissions. This setting's permissions default to 0644.
  4. Click Change Permissions to save your changes. 

Notes:

  • When a toolbar action is not available, the function icon displays in gray.
  • You can only use certain File Manager functions with only one file at a time. Select the desired file in the file window before you attempt these actions.
  • Any attempt to rename, edit, or view multiple files at the same time will only affect the first listed file in the directory.

Delete and restore files and folders

To delete a file or folder, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the file or folder that you want to delete.
  2. From the toolbar, click Delete. The Trash prompt will appear. 
  3. Click Trash File(s) to confirm that you want to delete the file or folder. 

    Note:

    When you delete files or folders, the system does not permanently delete the files. Instead, the system moves the files to the Trash folder. Click Empty Trash to permanently delete the files or folders.

To restore a file or folder, perform the following steps:

  1. Click View Trash from the toolbar.
  2. Select the file or folder that you want to restore.
  3. Click Restore in the toolbar.
  4. Confirm that you want to restore the item.

Other item actions 

Right-click on files or folders to select from a menu of actions the system customizes based on the file's type.

FeatureDisplays forDescription
UploadFilesUpload individual items, such as files or images.
DownloadFilesDownload files to save them locally.
Code EditFilesOpen the selected file in a code editor.
HTML EditFiles

Open the selected HTML file in a visual HTML editor.

Note:

For more information, read our HTML Editor documentation. 

ExtractCompressed Files

Extract the selected *.zip*.Gz, or *.Bz2 archive and store the files in a directory.

Note:

This function will only work with the .zip format if Zip exists on your server. Your system administrator can run the yum install zip command to install the PHP Module: Zip.

CompressFiles, Compressed Files, Folders

Compress the selected files or folders to a single *.zip*.Gz, or *.Bz2 archive and store the compressed file to a specified directory.

Note:

This function will only work with the .zip format if Zip exists on your server. Your system administrator can run the yum install zip command to install the PHP Module: Zip.

Password ProtectFolders

Set a username and password to restrict access to a folder. 

Note:

Your hosting provider must enable this feature.

Leech ProtectionFolders

Redirect users who have shared the password to a restricted area of your site. The system will redirect accounts that exceed a set number of logins in a two hour period to a selected URL, or receive an internal server error message. 

Note:

Your hosting provider must enable this feature.

Manage IndicesFolders

Customize the way users view a directory on the web. 

Note:

Your hosting provider must enable this feature.

Search for an item

The Search tool, located at the top-right corner of the interface, allows users to search for a specific file. By default, the Search tool searches all files in the home directory. You can limit the search to the document root at/home/user/public_html, or to the directory displayed in the file window.

To search for a file, perform the following steps:

  1. Use the Search menu to select the directory to search: All Your Filesonly public_html or Current Directory.
  2. Enter the desired file name in the text box.
  3. Click Go.

A new window displays the filenames that match your search. To go to a folder, or go to the folder that contains the file, double-click the desired item in the list. If no files that include your search term exist, you will see the message No records found.

Character encoding verification dialogs

When you edit a file with the EditCode Editor, or HTML Editor features, a window appears to confirm the file's character encoding. Use the menu to select the correct character encoding for the file. Then, click Edit to continue.

  • Click Toggle Help for more information about how to select the correct character encoding.
  • Click Disable Encoding Check to turn off future encoding verifications.

To enable or disable the Character Encoding Verification Dialogs feature, perform the following steps:

  1. Click Settings in the top-left corner of the interface. A new window will appear.
  2. Enable or disable the Character Encoding Verification Dialogs feature:
    • To enable encoding verification, select the Disable Character Encoding Verification Dialogs checkbox.
    • To disable encoding verification, deselect the Disable Character Encoding Verification Dialogs checkbox.
  3. Click Save.

Warning:

If you select the wrong initial encoding, your file may become corrupt. If your file displays as a series of special characters, immediately abort the edit and select the correct encoding. Do not save the file.