Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

For cPanel & WHM version 64

(Home >> Clusters >> Configuration Cluster)

Overview

The Configuration Cluster interface allows you to link a master server to one or more additional servers in the configuration cluster. You can then choose to copy server configuration settings from WHM's  Update Preferences  interface ( Home >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences ) to the configuration cluster's servers.

Important:

After you enable this feature, you must also select the Send my settings to all configuration cluster servers checkbox in WHM's  Update Preferences interface (Home >> Server Configuration >> Update Preferences) on the master server. The interface only displays the checkbox after you add servers to the configuration cluster.

Configuration Cluster

Important:

  • If you log in to the non-master configuration cluster server, the interface will not indicate that the server resides in the configuration cluster. You can only view this information on the master server.
  • If you make changes to the configuration cluster's settings on a non-master server, the master server's settings may overwrite those changes. 

Before you set up a configuration cluster in the Configuration Cluster interface, log in as a root-level user on the server that you wish to use as the master server. You must also log in to the master server as a root-level user to make any configuration changes that you want to copy to the configuration cluster's servers.  

The Configuration Cluster interface displays a list of all of the servers that you linked to the currently-authenticated server.

ColumnDescription
Server

The server's IP address, or the name that you assigned to the server (for example, example.com).

Important:

You can use any other domain name that resolves to the server's IP address for this value. However, to prevent problems if you migrate domains to another server, we recommend that you use the server's hostname.

User

The username of the server's root-level account. This value defaults to the root user.

Remote Access KeyThe signature version of the server's remote access key or API token.

Add a server

To add a server to the configuration cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Click Create at the top right or bottom right corner of the interface.
  2. Enter the server name in the Server text box.

    Note:

    • We recommend that you use the server's hostname.
    • You cannot modify the server name after you add a server to the configuration cluster.

  3. Enter the server's root-level account username in the User text box.

    Note:

    This value defaults to the root user.

  4. Paste the server's remote access key or API token in the Remote Access Key text box.

    Notes:

    • You can generate a remote access key in WHM's  Remote Access Key  interface (Home >> Clusters >> Remote Access Key). 
    • You can generate an API token in WHM's  Manage API Tokens  interface (Home >> Development >> Manage API Tokens). 
  5. Click Save. The server will appear in the configuration cluster servers table.

Edit a server's remote access key or API token

To modify the remote access key or API token for a server in the configuration cluster, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the arrow icon () that corresponds to the server for which to modify the remote access key or API token.
  2. Make any desired changes in the User text box.
  3. Make any desired changes in the Remote Access Key text box.

    Note:

    The Remote Access Key text box displays either the current access key's signature or API token. However, you must enter the entire remote access key or API token to make changes.

  4. Click Save.

Delete a server

To remove a server from the list of the configuration cluster's servers, perform the following steps:

  1. Click the trash icon () that corresponds to the server that you wish to delete.

  2. A confirmation window will appear. Click Continue.

    Note:

    When you delete a server from the list of configuration cluster servers, the settings that you already applied to that server remain in place. The master server will not relay any new changes, and will not overwrite changes that you make on the previously-linked server.

Additional documentation