Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

This document is for a previous release of cPanel & WHM. To view our latest documentation, visit our Home page.

For cPanel & WHM 11.40

(Home >> Account Functions >> Manage Account Suspension)

Overview

This feature allows you to suspend cPanel accounts. Generally, this is done to temporarily disable delinquent accounts.

When an account is suspended, the website will not be accessible via the Internet; instead, visitors will see a page stating that the account was suspended. (You can edit this page with the Web Template Editor feature.) If the user has been granted shell access, this privilege will also be revoked when the account is suspended.

The list is comprised of all accounts that are on your server. It lists active, unsuspended accounts in white and suspended accounts in red. In the example below, example1.com is suspended.

Suspend an account

To suspend an account, perform the following steps:

  1. Select the account you would like to modify.
  2. Select the box to prevent your resellers from the ability to unsuspend the account.
  3. Click Suspend or Unsuspend to suspend or unsuspend the account, respectively.
  4. If you suspend the account, you may specify a reason in the text box.
    • If the account is owned by a reseller, this may be valuable information so that the issue is quickly resolved.

Remember:

Suspension and bandwidth limiting are two separate functions. Sometimes one is mistaken for the other. For more information, read our Account Suspension Versus Bandwidth Limiting and Account Termination documentation.

Caveats

    • You cannot change a suspended account's password.
    • When an account is suspended, a special character is added to the front of the cPanel user's password field. This special character creates an invalid hash, resulting in an invalid password message to the cPanel user.
    • This feature relies on .htaccess files to redirect incoming web traffic to an Account Suspended page. If you disable .htaccess files, visitors to the website are still able to access the website's content.